Let the Pigskins Fly!

I should begin this post by saying I had to ask my husband, the football fanatic in our house, if a pigskin was in fact a nickname for a football. This is your first clue how into football I am.

A friend and her husband are very, very into college football. Me…not so much. I went to a college where it was a big deal for our football team to play a school outside of the state. My friend and her husband both went to schools where football was so big it was aired on national channels! She emailed me and wanted an order of cookies for her husband to kick off the college football weekend. She used the words “Gators” and “VT”. Second clue how football I am…I had to google what these meant ;) For those of you who don’t know let me save you the 30 second Google search

VT = Virginia Tech

Gators = mascot for the University of Florida

Now time to air one of my weaknesses…burgundy. No, not the wine…I’m pretty good at wine ;) No, the color burgundy. I have the worst time mixing icing to get a burgundy color. It kills me! I don’t know what it is, but I continually struggle with it. I figured I’d show my progress and see if anyone has any tips they can share :)

Start with burgundy, add red, add brown, add purple, add more red…hmmmmmm

Well, after adding more red and purple to my last picture, I finally ended up with a color that I felt was acceptable ;) Hope she enjoys them and both their teams do well this season!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bakedScientist - Selene
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 06:23:17

    As a Proud hokie… If you can mail VT cookies I swear I will buy a million from you ever football season !!!!!!!! LET GO HOKIES! Those look PERFECT! Or better yet I will post a link to this on facebook!

    How do they survive in that house too much school spirit !!!

    Reply

    • royalcookie
      Aug 31, 2012 @ 06:35:50

      Anytime!!! I might even have to give the Hokie bird a try ;) It was too intimidating this time around ;)

      And as for the team spirit…No idea if they do, but I can’t imagine their house if their schools play one another! Combustion and excitement for weeks leading up I’m sure :)

      Reply

  2. Michele
    Aug 31, 2012 @ 16:48:28

    All look fabulous. The Gators really look ferocious and intimidating !! Good job.

    Reply

  3. Paula Kelly-Bourque (@VanillaBeanBake)
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 11:07:14

    Wonderful job on these VT logo cookies and your gators are fabulous!

    Reply

  4. Joan Seaman
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 12:34:17

    Bet you will have more orders as soon as “Gators” see how great the cookies are. These are terrific!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 13,642 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

