My Work Strategy

Everyone does things differently. Even if it looks like it was done the same way as someone else, I’m guessing the way their mind worked to get to the end result was different. I find myself spacier and spacier the older I get, not to mention how many more things I need to keep track of on a daily basis. Where did that sippy of milk go from two days ago?? Did I wash that dress I want her to wear to the birthday party? Oh lord, there better be enough eggs for this… and the list goes on and on. So I find myself relying heavily upon lists. Lists are my savior. Hallelujah for lists!

Side tangent complete and now back to how everyone does things differently. I figured I’d show the stages I go through for a somewhat complex cookie order. I’d LOVE to hear how others would have done it or tips for saving time. Believe me…I could use either more time or more efficiency so bring on the suggestions!!

First step is to draft out the design

Once any design wrinkles are ironed out and the concept is complete…

I move on to outlining which colors are needed for each design. It’s now that I also list what areas I’m planning on doing first and second. The “A” column indicates the first layer I’ll do. Once that’s complete (usually over night) I move on to the colors/items in column “B”. I’ve never had to do more than 3 layers but I’m still waiting for that challenge to present itself :)

After I list what colors are for what areas, I write down a complete list of colors I need and begin coloring my icing

Thank god for lists right!! I guess I could mix up all my “layer A” colors first ¬†and the next night mix up the “layer B” colors, but I’d rather do it all in one shot. Once the icing is all mixed together and thinned out to the right consistency, I begin piping and flooding.

And continue with the second layers until the cookies begin to take shape

Until the cookie is complete :) Love how these turned out. What a fabulously creative idea…kudos Robin!!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 14:01:20

    I have never done an order quite that detailed… but I do make lists. (It doesn’t usually include pics, I will sketch those out on a separate page if I need to. Usually it’s just in my head.) My lists includes which colors I need in buttercream and which I need in icing… there are usually a lot of numbers because people tell me 2 doz assorted shapes and I have to break down how many to make of each.

    I will have to take a picture of my notebook after I do an order, it’s not pretty and typically ends up with icing all over it!

    Reply

    • royalcookie
      Jul 17, 2012 @ 14:13:36

      I’d LOVE to see your notebook!! I don’t typically send sketches to my customers, but on a few occasions (such as this order) I wanted to make sure I was getting Robin’s design just right :)

      Reply

  2. Paula Kelly-Bourque (@VanillaBeanBake)
    Jul 17, 2012 @ 15:05:08

    I think your decorating strategy is working great for you. All of these cookies look great and I love your N.Y. skyline ones.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 14,108 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

