Fondant Fun

Tonight was the fourth class of the third Wilton cake decorating course. It was all about Gum Paste and Fondant. I had such a good time in the class, but I have to say I was WAY outta my comfort zone!! I don’t think we used a piping bag the entire month. And there wasn’t a single dollop of royal icing. Yowsers! But we made some beautiful flowers. Stuff that looks great…but to be honest doesn’t taste good at all. I know there are people that love to eat fondant, but I’m just not one of them. The flowers may look cleaner made in fondant, but I’ll take a buttercream or royal icing rose any day ;)

I thought I would showcase our final cakes. There were two other people in the class with me and their cakes turned out fantastic! One is a 13 year old girl and she did such a good job. She LOVES color that’s for sure ;)

And here’s my cake…

I’m unfortunately not going to be taking the fourth and final course at this time. Just too busy making cookies. This Wilton ride has been a fun and a wild one. Highly recommend it to anyone who wants to dabble in the arts and get out of the house for some “me” time.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 21:51:33

    How fun! I really want to take the fondant class too but I’m going to be on vacation during the next one at my store :/ I will def be going back for more lessons eventually though!

    Reply

    • royalcookie
      Mar 26, 2012 @ 22:01:15

      If you’re only going to miss one class, double check to see if you can make it up. I missed one (for the Bachelor finale) and just made up the class the following week :)

      Reply

  2. Michele
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 22:19:49

    Your cake looks so pretty. It looks like an Easter hat ! :) Good job & congratulations.

    Reply

  3. Georgia
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 11:22:37

    I so agree about the royal icing or buttercream rather than fondant. It’s almost like piping is becoming a lost art.

    Your flowers do look pretty.

    Reply

  4. Bean
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 12:41:38

    It’s funny we both finished a Wilton course on the same night :]

    I almost didn’t sign up for this class because I knew there wouldn’t be a lot of piping. I feel like fondant is a waste because no one likes it anyway. But I had way too much fun in the first and second course to skip the third! Do you think you’ll end up taking the fourth one sometime in the future?

    What are the pink flowers on your cake? I love those. And it does look like a hat! Very good for Mother’s Day.

    Reply

    • royalcookie
      Mar 27, 2012 @ 13:56:39

      I’m planning on taking the 4th course but not right away. I do mostly cookies and want to focus on that again but won’t be able to stay away from learning new flowers for long ;)

      The pink flowers are mums…I liked those the best

      Reply

  5. Joan Seaman
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 18:06:49

    There is beauty in simplicity. Your cake is beautiful!!!

    Reply

  6. Vanessa
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 14:49:14

    I think you could ice skate on your cake! That is SOOOO smooth! I love the green border with the little dots – so sweet!

    Reply

    • royalcookie
      Mar 30, 2012 @ 15:41:29

      It was supposed to be 4 inches tall and for some unknown reason mine barely made 2.25 inches! I guess I made up for the height with smoothless (like some of the guys back in highschool hehe)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 14,663 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

