70th Birthday

Wow…I feel like I’ve been gone forever! But in reality, it’s only been a week and I know exactly where I’ve been…in my kitchen. While delivering the #1 cookies last Saturday I took another order for tomorrow. An order for 5 dozen favor bags with two cookies each. I’m one of those people that need a calculator so let me help you out…that’s 120 cookies. 120 COOKIES! Sweet order!

So Sunday I decided to spend with my family and then went full board with the cookie stuff starting last Monday. Baked Monday and Tuesday, decorated Wednesday and Thursday and on the 5th night, tonight, I rested (ok bad joke, but I did in fact rest). I do have to say that having Jack Johnson sing about banana pancakes helped on those late nights when all I wanted to do was crawl into bed ;)

The order is for a woman who is throwing a surprise birthday party for her Mom who is turning 70. She wanted something simple and elegant that matched the beautiful invitations that were sent out. I love teal in icing! It looks amazing against the white sugar cookie.  All I have to say is I better get something like this when I turn 70 :)

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Georgia
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 13:07:08

    When you do the outline in the blue and go back to flood with the white, do you just flood the center almost to the blue and then use a toothpick (or something like Karen’s booboo stick) to push the white into the outline?

    http://www.karenscookies.net/Cookie-Scraper-Boo-Boo-Stick_p_607.html

    Reply

    • royalcookie
      Mar 24, 2012 @ 13:10:43

      Yep! That’s exactly what I do. I try and get the white flood icing to touch the blue outline so it “sticks” which means less toothpick work :) Only problem I found was the white was a little more runny and it ran over some of the blue outline towards the center. I think if I waited for the blue to dry it would have done the same thing though. Guess consistency is key here!

      Reply

  2. Carrie
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 13:36:53

    Love them! I feel ya, I always take on too much and pretty much disappear to the world for a whole week. Luckily my husband is understanding!

    Reply

  3. Dad
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 15:52:44

    If dementia doesn’t set in I will try and remember your 70th birthday wish. Your cookies look fantastic. LYD

    Reply

  4. Marti
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 19:52:40

    Kendra you are talented!!! Love love love your cookies!! When we are back Stateside I will most definitely place an order!! Sweet 16 cookies?? :)

    Reply

    • royalcookie
      Mar 24, 2012 @ 20:11:48

      You have no idea how excited I am to have you back in the states!!! I MISS YOU ALL! And for my beautiful, smart and talented Kyla…cookies on the house! Sweet 16 cookies…you just let me know what she wants and consider it a done deal :)

      Reply

  5. filingawaycupcakes
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 04:07:44

    These are simple, elegant, and soooo sweet! Aww 70, happy 70th to her. You are a great friend.

    Reply

    • royalcookie
      Mar 25, 2012 @ 09:41:38

      Thanks! I actually have never met the birthday girl. A woman who works where I used to work placed the order for her Mom. She’s got a sweet daughter!!

      Reply

  6. akittyandhercakes
    Mar 25, 2012 @ 18:23:47

    I just love your cookies! They look soooo gorgeous! :) Just sayin. :D

    Reply

  7. Joan Seaman
    Mar 27, 2012 @ 17:56:53

    Soooo glad to find royalcookie. I have truly missed your creations. Love them and love you!!!!

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Teal “Thank You” Cookies « Wine & Plum

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 14,107 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

