A Not So Pretty Valentine’s Day Cookie

They can’t all be blue ribbon winners.

No one’s ever told me this, but I can imagine if when I was really good at raising squash or hogs as a kid someone would’ve wound up telling me this as a way to sooth my hurt pride when I didn’t win the local town’s heaviest _____ blue ribbon contest. So as I stare dumbfoundedly (there’s that damn word again) at my cookie I think to myself, “Suck it up girlfriend…they can’t all be blue ribbon winners.”

Scenario…Vanentine’s Day. Two sick kids at home, a kitchen in complete disarray and no boxed cake mix. There’s no way I can make a cake for my hubby with the heavy responsibilities of the day today. Nor can I bundle everyone up for a quick (read hour…don’t forget I have two kids nothing is ever quick) trip to the grocery store to buy a mix. So my next thought…I made cookies yesterday maybe I can decorate one for him. However, the only icing on hand is the one I made for class last night and it wasn’t what I was used to. Needless to say I was rushing things and next thing I knew I was piping out WAY too runny icing on my cookie. Thought the damn was going to hold but when I flooded it it ran over the sides. This picture shows the attempt at fixing it with a little scrapeage. Yeah…not gonna work. So…my hubby has a cookie that looks like it was decorated by his 2 year old daughter. Guess I could go for the cute factor and win a few points in the end ;)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joan Seaman
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 13:41:40

    “It’s the thought that counts!” I’m sure your efforts will be appreciated.

    Love you!!!

    Reply

  2. Michele
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 15:23:16

    OK – so I’m just laughing ! Not at you, but at your writing. You are so funny. I love that about you. Plop one of your beautiful flowers on it and Matt will enjoy it. I know it tastes good!

    Reply

    • royalcookie
      Feb 14, 2012 @ 15:44:15

      You read my mind…I plopped two flowers made last night on the cookie and wrote “I love you” hoping he’ll love the message enough he’ll forget about the icing :) hehe

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 14,768 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

