Coloring Red Frosting

Ok so did some digging last night and found that the bitter nasty taste and the gallons of red coloring are normal. Apparently coloring white frosting red isn’t as easy as it seems. Here are some tips I found:

  • Americolor seems to work better than Wilton’s coloring
  • Color your frosting pink and then color it red
  • Use red (no taste) coloring
  • Color your frosting a day in advance. After 24 hours that pink will turn red

I have some Americolor downstairs that I use for my cookie decorating…will have to give it a try this weekend when I whip up some more rosettes!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vanessa
    Feb 06, 2012 @ 08:46:34

    Loving catching up on the blog! Do you use liquid coloring or those little pots of gel that are more solid? (LOL – can you see how much I know about this stuff!)

    Reply

    • royalcookie
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 09:33:00

      I didn’t know anything about this stuff either until I started getting my hands dirty with it…literally! hehe I started out using the Wilton’s color pots because that’s what I had, but came to love Americolor soft gels better.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 14,538 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

