Filling Sent From Heaven

The other day I made a cake which turned out to be a decorating disaster, but the frosting was TO. DIE. FOR. Wow! It was definitely the hit of the dessert. Sort of like a Chanel bag being sold in Walmart…it just didn’t fit and out-shined everything else. It is a definite keeper as I search for better cake recipes. Thought I’d share it as it’s too good to keep a secret :)

http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/milk-chocolate-mousse-filling

Took a little bit of effort to make but it was so worth it! I also like there’s three variations to the recipe. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips so it would be somewhere between a milk and a dark chocolate mousse.

Enjoy!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The Cake That Couldn’t Break Me « The Royal Cookie
  2. Carrie
    Feb 25, 2012 @ 21:05:00

    I’m not a fan of coffee. What else could be good instead? A diff flavor liqueur?

    Reply

    • royalcookie
      Feb 26, 2012 @ 09:29:30

      You don’t taste the coffee at all actually. I learned awhile ago (from my hubby no less) that coffee simply enhances the taste of chocolate. Having said that, I’m sure you don’t want to go out and buy some liquor that you’ll never drink so I bet you can simply leave the liquor out and you’ll be fine. I highly doubt the small amount that’s added would affect the consistency if it was omitted.

      http://bakingbites.com/2010/04/why-is-there-coffee-in-my-chocolate-cake/

      Reply

    • royalcookie
      Feb 26, 2012 @ 10:16:52

      Oh! So that same recipe can be made with white chocolate, milk chocolate or dark chocolate. The white chocolate recipe calls for orange liquor. That might be yummy with the milk chocolate too. I was also thinking mint liquor! Hmmmm I think just about any flavor would be good…cherry, chambord, etc. Experiment and let me know!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 14,071 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

